Hello Everyone!

It is done the St. Louis trip there and back again.

In short Wheaton Academy lost both games, met a scroll saw friend, it was HOT, enjoyable time, and food.

So we are all set to leave at 7:30 AM on the coach bus as a couple kids finally arrive. I’m not late, it’s only 7:30, you were supposed to be here at 7 and LEAVE at 7:30… oh. So we leave a bit late. With one stop at a rest area to eat, stretch and do what’s necessary we arrive in St. Louis at the Missouri Athletic Club. We check in to our rooms, get a snack, meetings for the Varsity team and leave for the game.

View from my room

We get to the Westminster Christian Academy, a beautiful new school, just opened this past week, over an hour before game time. They give me two kids to help carry the camera cases and set up the system. We do and still have almost an hour before game time. Now I have to stay with the camera because after a period of time of inactivity the camera will shut down. It is about 30 feet up in the air and has to come down to reset it and then put it back up. So I have to stay with it and push buttons every so often so the camera will stay on. That is the boring part. All by myself and nothing to do but keep the camera on and test it making sure all is okay. Same thing at half time. Did I say it was HOT earlier? I’m down on the field, on a brand spanking new track type surface in the direct late afternoon sun. It is hotter there than anywhere else and I can’t go anywhere. The coach bus driver had given me a chair with an umbrella and at least there was a breeze. I used that chair and umbrella when I could!

View from east side of field south

View from east side of field north

A couple hours later I was done (put a fork in me) and so was the game. We lost and it could have just as easily gone in our favor. It was a good game, a bit sloppy with too many mistakes on our part. I got to see it all on my little 3×5 screen. Josh started on all the kickoffs and got a tackle. I am sure I filmed it but didn’t know it was him until it was announced after the play. There were a lot of good passing and running plays for both teams. Did I say it was HOT? We had a couple guys go down with cramping but they all seemed okay.

My end zone from the stands, I was in the red square area

I was sent some help to take down the camera and load it back on the bus. Thanks guys for both times. We went back to the MAC and cleaned up and had some St. Louis style pizza. I have had it before so I knew what to expect but it seemed others had not and did not. St. Louis style pizza has a very thin crust and a sweet sauce and a different cheese than you would expect. I am not sure what the cheese was. I heard guesses of Parmesan and cheddar. I liked it and yes it was different from Chicago style. It was pizza and you eat it.

Saturday morning breakfast was great! O.J. and milk, scrambled eggs, sausage links, bacon, fried potato wedges, pancakes and syrup. Then off to the JV game. I didn’t get to film this game and was waiting for a scroll saw friend to arrive, so I was distracted from the game a bit. The morning sun was in the east and the stands were on the west side of the field. It was cooking time again! I thought I was done last night! This was a reheating! My friend made it there during the third quarter and we met face to face for the first time. GB is a friend from a scroll saw forum I am a member of. So we had never met even though we had talked through the forum for almost a year now. It was good to meet him and his sister. We talked through the rest of the game, the JV lost too.

After the game we were all served lunch by WCA. There was no lack of food on this trip! There were sub sandwiches, toasted ravioli, veggies, fruit, a local root beer, pink lemonade, water and a delicious butter cake for dessert.

Then we were off to the St. Louis Arch. Just a short time, so only walking around and a visit to the museum, but no trip up the Arch.

The old capitol building

Buffalo inside the museum

Back on the bus for the ride home to WA with a stop for a quick supper.

A look back

I was tired and over-baked but had an enjoyable time. I was glad I got to go.

Later, Harold

 

