Hello everyone!

Today I have for you my first two piece wood craft. It is a heart shelf. That said I might as well show it right away.

My first shelf

For this shelf I had to drill 52 holes to make 50 cuts on the heart piece. The other two holes are for the mounting screws. The shelf has two square pegs that slide into two square  holes. With the lacquer finish they are pretty tight.

A look down at the shelf

It has a nice reflection from the spray lacquer if I do say so myself!

A side shot

It works!

This project was enjoyable. It had a little of everything. Lots of holes to drill, some not so hard cuts and some intricate cuts. It was definitely not one of instant gratification, because it took more time to do. If you can see, it is the same on each half. So I really wanted each opposite cut to look the same. The pattern was actually off a bit and I had to make adjustments in a couple areas.

This is from 1/2″ maple, dipped in lemon oil, and spray lacquered. The lemon oil really made the maple look good.

Tools used were; a band saw to cut the wood small enough, a drill press to drill the holes, blue painters tape for easy removal, 3M 77 spray adhesive to attach the pattern to the tape, a scroll saw for cutting where the holes were drilled and the outer cuts, a sander to get the fuzzies off and get the wood smooth, lemon oil in a bin for dipping the wood to bring out its natural grain and Rust-Oleum spray lacquer for a nice gloss finish.

So there you have it! More than you ever wanted to know if you read this far. I hope you like the looks of this project. I don’t know what is next. I have lots of ideas, just have to pick one and get it on!

Until next time.

Later, Harold

